Blog Post #11

  • Blog post #11: Again, blog any reactions you had to remainder of the inquiry 3 presentations. Did any of the texts you heard about sound interesting to you? Were there any you already knew about? What do these texts tell you about the differences or similarities between you and your classmates? What might account for these differences or similarities?

I enjoyed the presentations on Thursday a lot, but I did not connect with the texts that were presented as much as I did with the texts that were presented on Tuesday. I think a lot of the texts that were presented on Tuesday were ones that I had heard of before but had never had interaction with, so I enjoyed hearing why people enjoyed them so much. But I had not really heard of any of the texts that were presented on Thursday. However, the ones that did interest me and that I had heard of were “Grey’s Anatomy” and “House of Cards.” Grey’s Anatomy is a show that I have always been interested in watching but just never found the time to do so, but after seeing the presentation on the entire series, I was reminded that I need to start watching them. Also, House of Cards is a series I have heard is really good, but I had no idea what it was about. But after seeing the presentation I realize that it is about politics, and I am a political science major which makes the show extremely interesting to me and I think it is something I was definitely consider watching in the future. After seeing the presentations on Thursday, I got the same impression that I got on Tuesday about the differences between all of us in the class. We all hold similar morals and values and we choose texts that reflect those certain morals and values, but there is also a difference is the texts we choose due to different interests and upbringings. 

Leave a comment