Blog Post #12

what is at least one take-away from each inquiry you’ve completed so far, and where is that take-away evident in your own writing? What are some excerpts from your own writing that you might choose to highlight in your inquiry 4 project as pieces you can comment on regarding the lessons you’ve learned this semester? Be specific.

Starting with Inquiry 1, one take away from that assignment is definitely how to close read. Not only how to do it, but what to look for, and now when I watch movies I see things that I would have never pointed out before we completed this inquiry. This take away is evident in my own writing because you can see in Inquiry 1 that I was new to close reading, but because I chose a movie that I enjoyed I was able to pull together what I thought the first scene of catching fire was trying to portray. For Inquiry 2, one take away from that assignment is that there are many different factors that go into making a movie “good.” And a lot of those factors are pure luck and coincidence. For example, because a movie came out during the time of a great controversial era, it may become popular. Because a movie comes out during a certain time of the year may be a factor as to why it becomes popular. You can see this in my writing because the Titanic was popular for a multitude of factors. Everything from the topic it covered, the details in the movie, the actors chosen, and even the time period. For inquiry 3, the thing I took away from that is that I have not been introduced to different cultures other than my own. After looking at my canon I realize that I have all female, white texts, and that says something about the ways in which I was brought up. You can see this in my writing because I specifically mention that in my writers reflection. 

Some things I may choose to cover in Inquiry 4 will definitely be where I talk about the lake in Inquiry 1. I think that was a great example of a close reading and I am proud of the fact that I caught that and was able to relate it back to Gale’s and Katniss’ relationship. In Inquiry 2, I will want to talk about the fact that Leonardo DiCaprio was a huge part of the success of that movie. I think that is worthy to discuss in Inquiry 4 because it shows that if they were to have a “no-name” actor in that film, it wouldn’t have been as popular. And in terms of Inquiry 3, I definitely want to touch on the “female and white” aspect of my canon and writer’s reflection, just because it was something I did not expect to see from myself but that also shows something about the type of culture I grew up in. 

Leave a comment