Blog Post #8

  • Blog post #8: Define your working thesis statement and discuss your plans for this paper. What will you be discussing and how does the research you’ve completed tie into your thesis statement? This is your chance to address anything that hasn’t necessarily made its way into your draft and outline what it is you plan to continue to work on before the final draft is due. Identify at least 2 questions you want your peer responders to address in their comments.

My working thesis will sound something along the lines of, “The 1997 version of Titanic, featuring big name actors and including one of the biggest budgets of its time, is the most popular and most remembered remake of the tragedy.” My plans for the paper will be to introduce the topic of why the titanic is a crisis in history is such a big deal to Americans and why it catches our attention. I will then compared the 1997 version to other remakes of titanic, including the 1953 version which I have a lot of information on, and talk about why the 1997 version is the most remembered. I will then build off of that and go into details about each individual point of why that version is the most popular. Most of my research, aside from the reviews I’ve had to list, have been about the titanic, the remakes, why it touches the hearts of americans, and why the 1997 version is the most popular. Some things I am still working on and plan to add into my final draft will be more reviews on other remakes of titanic. The reviews I have in my annotations are reviews from the 1997 and 1953 version, and I think it would make my paper better if I also added in reviews on the television show and short movies. This may allow for me to tie in with the genre of the 1997 version, and talk about how it is popular compared to a television show or documentary.

2 Questions:

1. Even though this is just a rough sketch, does my paper seem to have purpose and a soul topic?

2. Am I using my notations correctly?

Leave a comment