Annotation #6

Ebert, Roger. “`TITANIC’S’ ENDURING POWER LIES IN HOW IT TOUCHES OUR FEELINGS ABOUT LIFE, DEATH.” rogerebert.com. N.p., 3 Mar 1998. Web. 6 Mar 2014.

This is probably one of the better reviews I have found about the 1997 version of Titanic. Roger Ebert is a very famous critic and I believe it is reliable and credible when referring to why this version was so popular. The only down side to this source is that it does not discuss why it was better than other versions of titanic, but that was probably not his intent when writing this review. However, there is a ton of great information packed into this review, and it talks about the fact that the movie did such a great job with reaching the emotions of the audience. Because Leo and Kate are so in love in this movie and then death happens, Ebert is convinced that the characters touched our hearts because we have all fallen in and out of love and everyone has lost someone near and dear to us. This also brings me to a different perspective that maybe it wasn’t necessarily the tragedy of the ship sinking that grabs the audience, but that love story that happens during the movie that maybe does not appear in other versions. Or maybe just not nearly as strongly. I will be able to use this source in my paper to describe why the public enjoyed the 1997 version of titanic so much. Robert Ebert had a lot of great quotes that I can use in my paper. I like the way he describes things and words his sentences, so I think this will be a fantastic source for my paper. 

Leave a comment